In Sight Johor: Teluk Sengat

In one of my earlier posts, “A Twist in Sungai Rengit”, I related how I sprained my ankle when I unwittingly stepped into a big crack on the concrete walkway. It was just punishment for not paying enough attention to where I was walking and ignoring an off-limits sign! What I did not mention was that after the incident I did not go home immediately, thinking I was suffering more from shock than anything else and that my leg would recover if I just allowed it to rest until we got to our next destination.

So we drove to another town called Teluk Sengat and stopped at a sloping rocky outcrop overlooking the sea. To the left, we could see a long jetty and J suggested that we make our way there to check out the view. By that time, however, the pain had become downright unbearable so to cut a long story short, we decided to leave the place and come back again when my leg was much better.

IMG_8161a

Fast forward two years later…we made our way again to Teluk Sengat in the hope of catching the sunset.

Teluk Sengat is a quiet seaside town on the bank of the Johor River. You know you’ve arrived when you see the long jetty, as well as a row of open seafood eateries along the river bank. It’s a nice place to dig into an array of tasty seafood offerings while watching the sky change colour. The abundance of marine life here makes it a popular fishing spot, giving rise to a number of raft houses (rumah rakit) where fish, shellfish and crustaceans are bred.

IMG_6989a

IMG_6981b

From the jetty at Teluk Sengat, you can see the Johor River Bridge in the distance. This 1.7km bridge is the the longest single plane cable-stayed bridge in Malaysia connecting Kong Kong Village in the west to Teluk Sengat in the east. It pales in comparison with the other bridges around the world but nevertheless, it makes for quite a pretty sight at night-time when the bridge is lit.

IMG_7007a

IMG_6999a

IMG_7018a

IMG_7028a

Sadly, the appearance of heavy clouds that day dashed any hopes of capturing a brilliant sunset. We could have stayed back and waited for the Johor River Bridge light-up, but that would have meant driving on a rural road with little or no street lighting for most of the journey home.

Oh well…guess I will have to make another trip to Teluk Sengat. Who knows? I might be third time lucky!

17 thoughts on “In Sight Johor: Teluk Sengat

  1. Beautiful captures! The place looks so serene and peaceful. Perfect to sit back and contemplate. How is your ankle now? Sometimes these injuries don’t go away easy.

    1. Ha! Ha! Yes, the place looks tranquil. However, just a few feet behind me was noise coming from the seafood kitchens and a group of youngsters attending a youth camp. 🙂 Some curious ones even came up to me and asked if I was photographing for magazine. My ankle is completely healed although the doctor said I have a weak ankle and must take extra care at all times. As I get older, the healing time takes longer and longer! :0

      1. Really? Photos are deceptive. That’s so cool that they thought of you to be a magazine photographer. You’re not old! I still have a stiff knee at times. And although I must keep exercising it, i spend too many hours on a bad chair. 😦

    1. Thank you for dropping by, Peta! I do hope you will get the chance to visit one day. Besides the diverse culinary offerings, there are many natural and man-made attractions to see and experience! 🙂

    1. Indeed you should make it a point to go one day. I am of the opinion that trips to these little towns are much safer than the city. I have never felt threatened or out of place when visiting these little towns. The locals are simple, helpful and leave you alone. Even the foreign workers like the Myanmarese and Vietnamese are accommodating. Everyone is very obliging and will more often than not, agree to pose for you. This cuts across all races – whether it be the old Chinese uncle who runs the Chicken Rice stall in the Mersing market, the Malay makcik who sells Roti Arab by the seaside at Air Papan or the young Indian man who operates a Nasi Kandar restaurant in Kota Tinggi 🙂

      By the way, if you ever visit Teluk Sengat, do make it a point to visit the Crocodile Farm nearby. It houses over 1000 crocodiles caught from the Johor River. I was going to write a bit about it in this post, but decided that reptiles and failed sunsets just don’t blend together!

Leave a Reply

