Phillip Island:Chasing Dawn

It’s not often that I get the chance to catch the sunrise in a beach setting. So very early the next morning, I forced myself out of the warm bedcovers, grabbed my jacket, camera and torchlight and used a shortcut to Cowes beach. The entire neighbourhood was still in slumber as I walked right to the end of the street. I made my way across the grass and into some bushes and trees that hid a narrow trail until I came to a flight of wooden stairs leading straight to the beach. As I made my way through the foliage, I could hear the distinctive calls of birds and insects as well as movements and cracking branches coming from the trees above me. This is what I love about Phillip Island. You get to really experience close encounters with wildlife in their natural habitat.

At that very early hour, I was the only person on the deserted beach. The sand was still wet and soft under my feet, forming little pools of water with every step forward. In the distance, I could make out the dim flicker of lights from the town and the black silhouette of trees against an emerging gold sky. I gazed at the waves ebbing lazily in their silver blue-grey coat and waited. A flock of seagulls kept me company as I watched the sky perform an elegant dance ritual of colours in blue, purple, pink, red and orange.

I felt as if I was in a huge open air concert hall and the light extravaganza was for my eyes only. What a humbling feeling!

IMG_4564b

IMG_4573a

IMG_4613a

IMG_4589a

IMG_5120layer800

IMG_5118a

All too soon, the magic of the moments came to an abrupt end. The sun’s golden rays had appeared surreptitiously but quickly, casting its light over the landscape and staking its claim on a new day.

IMG_5132a

IMG_4615a

16 thoughts on “Phillip Island:Chasing Dawn

  1. This is an interesting experience, when things are still sleeping, and that there is a joy to explore.
    you can contact with the first and the sunrise, it is a very good thing!
    Have nice day!

    Meihsiu

      1. Oh yes I do love them too, especially the sunrise. I feel like it’s got so much meaning. Or maybe I’m just being melodramatic. lol!. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

