Pulai Waterfall (#47)

I made my way across some rocks to have a better look at the downstream waters from Pulai Waterfall. The path beside the stream that leads to the main waterfall is paved with huge rocks, rendering it inaccessible to the general public. This is due to a tragedy that happened some years back. A thunderstorm brought about a major landslide of mud, rocks and sand, claiming the lives of three village children whose bodies were never found. Until today, the path has not been cleared and the best way to reach the waterfall is to walk in the river and head upstream.

It goes without saying that I didn’t make the attempt as I wasn’t quite sure about what dangers lurked beneath, other than the knowledge that there were leeches screaming for my blood! However, I did manage to get some morning shots of the sun’s rays coming through the forest canopy.

IMG_3110a

IMG_3109a

IMG_3114a

IMG_3113a

IMG_3119a

5 thoughts on “Pulai Waterfall (#47)

    1. Many years back, I was in a car on my way home after camping for two nights in a rainforest. One hour into the journey, I noticed blood coming through my socks. I peeped inside and found a leech attached behind my ankle, getting fatter and fatter from feasting on my blood. It goes to show that most of the time, you are not even aware that they are feeding on you!

Leave a Reply

