Moth Was Here

The first thing that caught my eye when I went down for breakfast this morning was the dark silhouette of a giant moth from behind the transparent window curtains.

I went outside to the car porch to take a closer look, and lo and behold!..there was Moth, perched comfortably at the left corner of my tinted window sill, admiring his own reflection on the darkened glass.

Moth was a giant! I’ve not seen any moth this big before. I rushed inside to get my camera. You must understand that moth sightings don’t occur very often, and especially not right in front of my doorstep!

By the time I changed lenses, Moth had already made his way to the next window.

Moths are not generally liked compared to butterflies. I think it must be because of their dark, sombre colours, and the “grandmother” tales surrounding them. When I was a little girl, I was told that when people die, they sometimes come back as moths to be with their loved ones. The moth could make its appearance as quickly as three days after a loved one’s death. This is because the dead person is still between the threshold of life and death and does not know that he has already died. (If you’ve watched that movie, “Sixth Sense”, you’ll know what I mean!) I have heard stories where the moth sits for days on the pillow or in the bedroom of the deceased person.

My sisters and I were told not to catch or kill a moth even if it came inside the house.  In this respect, I can recall two or three occasions when we just had to put up with having a moth in the house – flying around in the living room, sitting on top of the TV, resting on the ceiling of the dining room, playing hide-and-seek in the bedroom…but showing no desire at all to fly out into the sunshine, despite our keeping all doors and windows wide open! I used to cover my face with the blanket for fear that the moth would land on my face while I was sleeping.

Anyway, back to the present. I must admit that after seeing Moth, the next thought that came to my mind was, “Has anyone close to me passed away recently?” In the end, I think Moth must have lost his way and ended up in the wrong house!

By afternoon, Moth was gone, but I still managed to get a picture of our short time together!

Moth and Me
While photographing Moth, I saw my own image in the tinted window and decided that this was the right time to take a picture of Moth and me together!
 
 
 
 
Moth
My dear, I was never your butterfly,
 I was simply a moth who wished she was beautiful.
 
 

– by Sierra Elizabeth

Dec 23, 2012

5 thoughts on “Moth Was Here

  1. That is some beautiful moth, almost like from an alien land. Now, re the moth superstition, wasn’t there one about sighting a white butterfly in your house signifying the impending death of someone close? So now I feel very bad, as in Australia moths enter the houses very often, especially in the warmer season, and I never knew not to kill them, I have been whacking them with a magazine or shoe, and I feel really bad now. I will cup them in my hands and try to release them from now on.

    1. Thank-you for visiting. I’m afraid I’ve not heard about the meaning behind white butterfly sightings. However, it’s good to know that you’ve repented and will allow all moths to live their already short lives to the max in the future! 😉

  2. Gorgeous Moth! I live in the US and every once in a while we will find one, no longer alive, but laying on the ground of the woods surrounding us, perfectly intact and dried out. I sometimes bring them home and put them on potted plants and other natural things in the house. They are like a perfect gift from God to beautify my home. I would have been running for my camera too…for sure. I enjoyed your post about the moth. 🙂

  3. Yeah…last month….down here in KL also like that. It is like attack of this kind of moth also.
    It is everywhere. And so monstrous too !!

Leave a Reply

